Berlin

Last weekend I went to Berlin, Germany, and it is now my new favorite city in Europe!  I was really excited for this trip, as I had always wanted to go to Berlin as I had heard it has an amazing music scene/nightlife and it was a very fashionable city.  We really lucked out as it was the second weekend that Berlin had actually been pretty warm, so everyone was outside enjoying the rare sun.  The first day my friend Colleen and I spent all day walking around, exploring whatever we stumbled upon.  We walked through Tiergarten park, which is the biggest park in the center of Berlin.  After exploring for a while on our own we met up with a friend who is currently living and studying in Berlin, and she took us to a beer garden.  It was really cool to see actually beer gardens that were permanent structures, unlike ones I had seen at music festivals and such.

Our next day in Berlin we went to the famous East Side Gallery.  This was really cool, as I was not expecting it to be how it was.  It was not a typical gallery, as all of the art work was outside on huge walls, and it was really cool street art.

Across from the gallery we spotted a creepy circus and decided to explore inside, until we got too creeped out.

Our last day in Berlin was by far my favorite.  We spent the entire day at the Mauerpark flea market.  We had been looking forward to this for a while, as Barcelona does not offer any promising flea markets.  The market was very cute, and had so much stuff.  I got a really cool leather backpack, which I had been looking for for a while!

Also there were really cool beer gardens throughout the market, with lounge chairs and sand floors.  On the other side of the park there was a huge amphitheater packed with people.  Curious as to what was going on we walked over there, and realized that people were doing karaoke.  My friend who lived in Berlin told me that the Karaoke guy was famous, and on nice days he brought his sound system to the park.  It was really cool to see people from all over the world get really into it and also sing songs in english.  We spent over an hour watching people, good and bad, and had a really good time.  After my weekend I wondered why I never considered studying abroad in Berlin, until I remembered that up until recently it had been freezing, and very snowy.

Leave a Reply

