Biking Barcelona

This weekend, my friend Colleen and I rode bikes around the city.  We rented bikes from budget bikes, because clearly you can tell from the name, they were very cheap.  They were also pretty cool because they were bright orange.

At first we rode the bikes around the gothic area, where we live.  We tried exploring different streets, looking out for good stores and restaurants we could come back to.  After a while this got a little difficult as the streets were getting more and more crowded, making it really hard to ride around as people just ignore the pathetic bell that was on our bikes.  We then rode down to the water, where there was a bike lane.  We locked up our bikes when we got to the bottom of Las Ramblas, and met our friends for lunch at Tapa Tapa across the bridge, by the water.

After lunch we returned to our bikes and rode them down the coast.  We rode them until we reached the W hotel, and checked that out a bit as we had never been there.  By that time we had about 30 minutes until we had to return our bikes so we cruised back on the side streets, only to find my new favorite food place in barcelona…kimök.  It is a yogurt and granola place, and it is soooo good.  They have frozen yogurt, regular yogurt, and amazing smoothies.  I would definitely recommend it.  Luckily for me, I live about 2 minutes away, so I think I will be a frequent customer.

My day of bike riding was a lot of fun.  I was able to see a lot of the city that I had yet to see, and I definitely think I will be renting them a lot in the future.

Leave a Reply

